Training cultural leaders is at the heart of all we do.


The Association of Arts Administration Educators (AAAE) consists of more than 150 member programs, all training and equipping students in arts leadership, management, entrepreneurship, cultural policy, and more. Our network of instructors and their alumni are the cornerstones of local arts communities across the globe. AAAE serves as a convener, a resource, and an advocate for formal arts administration education.

We represent more than 100 higher education arts administration programs from across the globe. Our members develop and run programs of all shapes and sizes: undergraduate to graduate, private schools to state universities, online, cohort-based, fellowship-based, and more.

We maintain a network of program directors, scholars, and practitioners working to strengthen arts administration education and connect them to prospective students. We also encourage our members to pursue, publish, and present research in arts management and administration.

Students interested in training programs for managing visual, performing, literary, media, cultural, and arts service organizations can learn more about our member programs: their history, mission, curricula, degree(s) offered, and application procedures.

Education is the bedrock for strong arts administration, and we’re committed to building future leaders.



AAAE advances an inclusive, equitable, and resilient environment for the arts by supporting arts administration education programs and faculty and serving as a hub for knowledge.


We envision a world in which arts administrators are effective, responsive and proactive stewards of arts and culture who reflect the communities they serve. Their development as creative professionals is grounded in scholarship and practice.


Learn more about Arts Administration





Kevin Maifeld, President
Seattle University

Brea M. Heidelberg, Vice President
Drexel University

Julie Goodman,  Treasurer
Drexel University

Sherry Wagner-Henry, Secretary
Bolz Center for Arts Administration at University of Wisconsin - Madison


Karen Chandler
College of Charleston

Francois Colbert
HEC Montréal

Larry Epstein
Drexel University

Fleurette Fernando
University of Houston

Kathryn Heidemann
Carnegie Mellon University

Yuha Jung
University of Kentucky

Travis Newton
Le Moyne College

Sun-man Tseng
The Education University of Hong Kong

Ximena Varela
American University



Sherburne Laughlin, Immediate Past President
American University

Dr. Ana Gaio, ENCATC Representative
City University of London

Lee Ann Adams, Executive Director

Alex Hinand, Programs and Operations Manager

ADDRESS: P.O. Box 25094, Providence, RI 02905